The Technical and Vocational Education and Training Curriculum Development Assessment and Certification Council (TVET CDACC) has developed a comprehensive Competency Based Assessment (CBA) and Certification Framework to guide candidates, assessors/verifiers, assessment centre officers, assessment centre managers and all other players involved in the Competency Based Assessment and Certification process.



Dr. Lawrence Guantai- CEO TVET CDACC


Competency Based Assessment

The Competency-Based Education and Training (CBET) approach is built on the philosophy that assessment is done against Occupational Standards hence Criterion-referenced, that there must be proof of performance hence Evidence-based, and that Candidates are involved in the process of assessment hence participatory.  

To prepare for the assessment of trainees enrolled in Competency Based Courses, TVET CDACC has trained thirteen thousand and eighty-five (13,085) trainers and industry stakeholders on Competency Based Assessment.

Additionally, The Kenya National Qualifications Authority (KNQA) issued TVET CDACC with an accreditation certificate as a Qualification Awarding Institution (QAI) for the TVET sector on 16th November 2019.


Registration of Assessment Centres

Registration of assessment centres encompasses granting recognition to training institutions, industries, or set-ups, indicating that they meet established quality standards to conduct a competency-based assessment. TVET CDACC has registered one hundred and fifteen (115) assessment centres and intends to register more Assessment Centres that meet the requirements set out in the CBA Framework.


Registration of assessors and verifiers

The CBA framework outlines the requirements and the process of registration as an assessor or verifier. For one to be registered as an assessor and verifier, an applicant should hold a recognised qualification accepted by the Council in the skill area of assessment and have attained a qualification of at least one level higher than the course level assessed. In addition, the applicant must have undertaken four (4) days training on Competency Based Assessment conducted by the Council.

The number of registered assessors and verifiers drawn from various training institutions and the industry currently stands at one thousand nine hundred and thirteen (1913).


Registration of candidates

The CBA and Certification framework also guides on the registration of candidates’ details in registered assessment centres, credit transfers as per the KNQA guidelines, transfer of a candidate, and withdrawal or deferment of candidacy. The assessment centre shall verify if the candidate meets the selected course entry requirements as per the KNQA Standards. The out of school youth, people from the informal and formal sectors, are welcome to enrol in CBET Courses.


Assessment requirements

These are guidelines that specify the evidence (skills and knowledge) and obligatory assessment conditions under which a unit of competency is conducted.

The aforesaid framework specifies that TVET CDACC will conduct the Competency Based Assessment according to the respective course’s assessment requirements.

These Assessment requirements shall be modified to suit candidates with special needs.


Weighting Performance Criteria

The weighting of performance criteria (P.C.) guides the evaluation of specific observable standards by which the candidate’s performance is assessed.

An assessment tool must assess all the performance criteria, as indicated in the Occupational Standards in a unit of competency. A PC that is both knowledge-based and practical-based shall be captured in both skill and knowledge criterion.


Assessment tools Development

TVET CDACC will tenaciously ensure that all assessment tools developed align with the performance criteria weighting and assessment requirements. Industry representatives and trainers are engaged to critique the tools for clarity, reliability, validity, content accuracy, relevance and appropriateness of language for the candidate.


Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) Assessment

The Kenya National Qualifications Authority (KNQA) has developed and published the RPL Policy. TVET CDACC will conduct a Recognition Prior Learning assessment to identify, assess and certify a candidate’s knowledge, skills and competencies acquired in non-formal or informal learning against the Industry-endorsed Occupational Standards.

Recognition of Prior Learning targets individuals from the non-formal and informal sectors such as out of school youth, individuals who have never been to school, the educated, asylum seekers and retirees. The Council invites the general public to register in assessment centres for RPL Assessment in the 406 CBET programmes.



The CBA and Certification Framework further outlines an embedded certification process where trainees are awarded certificates after being declared competent in various Competency Based Courses. Competency Based courses are designed to ensure all the units are employable skills and independent of each other.


TVET CDACC awards National Certificate to a candidate upon demonstrating competence in all units of competency in a qualification (full qualification). Whereas, Certificate of Competency is awarded upon demonstration of competence in a unit of competency or a cluster of units of competency (partial qualification).











Supporting women to gain vital skills through TVET







Automotive Technician Competency Based Assessment